New Narratives’ Selection Committee

A group of leading independent activists and journalists will form New Narratives’ selection committee to choose six media houses that will be the recipients of three years support for journalism and business model development under our Excellence in Investigative Journalism Program funded by the Swedish Embassy in Monrovia.

The committee members are:

Silas Siakor is a Liberian environmental and human rights activist who was awarded the Goldman Environmental Prize in 2006. Silas founded the Sustainable Development Institute and served as its first Director from 2005 to 2009 working with communities to secure legal recognition and protection for their customary lands, and to resist large scale land grabs for monoculture plantations. He continues to work for social justice, human rights and the environment.

Brenda Brewer Moore is Founder & Executive Director of Keep Liberia, a leading nonprofit that promotes literacy, equality and economic livelihoods across Liberia. Brenda is a TEDx Speaker, an Ashoka Fellow, AspenNewVoices Fellow and Acumen Fellow.

Tecee Boley  is a leading Liberian radio and print reporter. Tecee was one of New Narratives first fellows joining the organization in 2010 and going on to become Executive Director of New Narratives Liberia from 2015-2017.

Tecee’s reporting on issues such as unsafe abortions, teenage prostitution, maternal health issues and foreign resource company misdeeds has prompted investigations by the United Nations and government. She has contributed to the PBS NewsHourWorld Policy Journal, Reuters and US public radio.

Prue Clarke is co-founder and Executive Director of New Narratives. An award winning journalist and media innovator, her reporting and commentary have appeared in The Washington Post, The New York TimesForeign Policy, the Guardian, the Financial TimesThe Times, BBC and CNN.